Sasol: Mining Bursaries 2024 / 2025

June 12, 2024

Apply for this job

Bursary Description

Sasol invites South African students to apply for Mining Bursary Programme 2025 academic year.

Bursary Application Closing Date: 19 July 2024

Bursaries will be awarded to students residing in municipalities in Gauteng, Mpumalanga and the Free State, for undergraduate degree studies (B Eng, BSc Eng and B Eng Tech), within the following fields:

  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronic Engineering
  • Geology
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mine Surveying
  • Mining Engineering

Shortlisted candidates will be required to complete an online psychometric testing as part of the selection process, before the interview phase.

All applicants will receive feedback on their application by no later than 30 November 2024, whether successful or unsuccessful.

The bursary has a work-back / pay-back obligation.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • You must be a South African citizen (by birth only)
  • You must reside in one of the following Sasol Mining Fenceline communities:
  • Mpumalanga – Gert Sibande District – Secunda Fenceline:
    • Govan Mbeki Municipality (Bethal, Brendan Village, Charl Cilliers, eMbalenhle, eMzinoni (Bethal), Eendragt, Evander, Kinross, Leandra, Lebogang, Leslie, Secunda, Trichardt)
    • Lekwa Local Municipality (Holmdene, Morgenzon, Standerton, Sakhile, Sivukile, Tutukani, Tutuka)
    • Dipaleseng Local Municipality (Balfour, Ekanini, Greylingstad, Grootvlei, Nthoroane, Nthorwane, Siyathemba, Val)
    • Msukaligwa Local Municipality (Davel, Ermelo, Wesselton)
  • Nkangala District (Mpumalanga) – Secunda Fenceline:
    • eMalahleni (Ga-Nala, Kriel, Ogies, Phola, Rietkuil, Thubelihle, van Dyksdrift, Wilge, Witbank / eMalahleni)
  • Fezile Dabi District (Free State) – Sasolburg Fenceline:
    • Metsimaholo Local Municipality (Coalbrook, Deneysvilles, Metsimaholo, Oranjeville, Refengkgotso, Sasolburg, Taaibos, Vaalpark, Zamdela)
    • Ngwathe Local Municipality (Edenville, Mokwallo, Parys, Tumahole, Vredefort)
  • Sedibeng District (Gauteng) – Sasolburg Fenceline:
    • Emfuleni Local Municipality (Boipatong, Bophelong, Evaton, Lochvaal Barrage, Sebokeng, Vanderbijlpark, Vereeniging)
    • Lesedi Local Municipality (Devon)
  • You must have completed Matric
  • You must be studying full-time, towards one of the undergraduate qualifications listed above (the bursary will NOT cover studies towards a dual/ combined/ hybrid degree program)
  • You must be in your 1st to 4th year of study in 2024
  • You must be studying studying at a recognised and accredited University or University of Technology in South Africa (the bursary will NOT cover studies at UNISA)
  • You must be able to complete your studies within a maximum period of 5 years (from start date to completion date of your degree)
  • BEng and BSc Eng students: you must have achieved the following minimum academic results:
    • Level 6 (70 – 79%) for Mathematics (not Mathematics Literacy)
    • Level 6 (70 – 79%) for Physical Science
    • Level 5 (60 – 69%) for English First Additional language OR Level 5 (60 – 69%) for English home language OR Level 4 (50 – 59%) for English Second Additional language
  • BEng Tech students: you must have achieved the following minimum academic results:
    • Level 5 (60 – 69%) for Mathematics (not Mathematics Literacy)
    • Level 5 (60 – 69%) for Physical Science
    • Level 5 (60 – 69%) for English First Additional language OR Level 5 (60 – 69%) for English home language OR Level 4 (50 – 59%) for English Second Additional language
  • Mine Surveying students: you must pursue studies at the University of Johannesburg only
  • Geology students: you must intend on completing an Honours degree

How to apply

Applications should be submitted ONLINE only, by following these steps:

NEW USERS (who have not previously registered on the Sasol Bursary website), must follow these steps to apply:
1) Register on the Sasol Bursaries platform by filling in all the required information.
2) You will receive a email to activate your account – click on “Activate Account”.
3) You will then be directed to a screen to verify your email address and to create a password.
4) After verifying your email and creating a password, you will be directed to the Login page
5) Fill in your email address and password to login.
6) Click on “South African Bursary Application” in the top left corner.
7) Click on the bursary you wish to apply for (Undergraduate or Postgraduate).
8) Fill in all the required information – do not leave any fields blank.
9) Read and accept the disclaimer (the white button should turn blue).
10) You will then receive an email response on your application – once you receive the email, you may close the application.

Applicants who have PREVIOUSLY REGISETERED on the Sasol Bursary website, you may continue their application by Logging in

Applicants who have PREVIOUSLY REGISETERED on the Sasol Bursary website but have forgotten their password, may click on the Forgot Password – you will then receive an email to reset your password, after receiving your new password, you may continue your application from step 5 above.

Applicants who do not have internet access or access to an internet café, may contact Sasol Bursary Application Helpline at 086 010 6235 for support.

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation on your online application (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • 1st year students: Matric certificate
  • 2nd, 3rd, 4th year students: 2023 academic results
  • Proof of tertiary registration
  • Proof of permanent home residence (municipality and district) (the address you will return to during holidays)


1. Only applications submitted via the Sasol Bursary website will be accepted – email or hard copy applications will NOT be accepted.
2. Applications that are late or incomplete will NOT be accepted.
3. If you do not have access to the interest or an internet café, please contact the Sasol Bursary Application Helpline for support (086 010 6235).
4. You may log out the application form and resume the application at a later stage, but the application must be submitted by the closing date.
5. You will not be able to edit details that you have submitted – if you need to make changes to your application, please email the Sasol Bursary department (email address below).
6. For further details on how to apply, visit the how to apply section.